Tri-State Speedway News Title Card

Haubstadt, IN – July 22, 2019 –  Tri-State Speedway will be racing this Saturday night July 27th.  Indiana Sprint Week will be the featured attraction at the quarter mile high banked oval located at Haubstadt, IN.  The UMP Modifieds will fill out a double bill with their feature paying $1,000 to win.

The July 27th event appears on the racing schedule as the eighth and final round of the NOS Energy Drink USAC Indiana Sprint Week.  By Saturday the top sprint car race teams will have had an opportunity to race at seven other Hoosier tracks over a ten day period.  Car counts for this year’s races have been in the 30 to 40 range.

Strong fields always provide starting lineups for each feature that are deep in potential winners.  The first four features held to conclude events last weekend produced four different winners.  Shane Cottle won the opening round at Gas City with a last lap pass.  Tyler Courtney was the last of 4 race leaders in taking the feature at Plymouth Friday.  Defending Indiana Sprint Week Champion Chris Windom was the winner at Kokomo.  Justin Grant led all 30 laps in winning at Lawrenceburg Speedway Sunday night.

Action resumes Wednesday.  The four remaining speedways holding Indiana Sprint Week races are at Terre Haute, Putnamville, Bloomington, and Haubstadt.  The USAC regulars are very familiar with all 4 tracks and the different challenges they present.  The excitement will build all week long with the final and deciding laps towards the championship to be turned at Haubstadt Saturday.

Last year veteran Dave Darland won the feature at the Indiana Sprint Week event at Haubstadt.  Chris Windom was second.  Kyle Cummins and Carson Short picked up Tri-State Speedway Sprint Week victories the two previous seasons.  Indiana Sprint Week races have been held at Tri-State Speedway since the 2000 season.  The week long series originated in 1988 and became USAC sanctioned in 1996.

With half of the 8 races completed for 2019, C.J. Leary leads in NOS Energy Drink USAC Indiana Sprint Week points.  Leary is off to a great start this year with two runner-up finishes and two third place finishes.  Chris Windom and Brady Bacon ranked second and third in points.

The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be featured on this program.  It will be their third appearance at the track this season.  Brandon McDowell won the modified feature to cap the Indiana Sprint Week event held last year.  McDowell also won the most recent modified feature to be held at the track.  Stan Beadles won the only other feature contested this year.  Their 25 lap feature will be held to conclude the program.

Qualifications begin at 6:30 P. M. C.D.T.  Racing begins at 7:30 P.M.

 In providing thrilling entertainment, sprint cars and modifieds continue to be a winning combination!  This will be another great night of short track open wheel racing at Tri-State Speedway.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.

Call Now Button