With all of the uncertainties of this past race season, there were still a lot of positives on the racetrack. The delay of the opening race until June did not damper the number of participants ready to compete. The Showdown originally scheduled for April was held on June 14th with 45 USAC/MSCS sprint cars in attendance. Stephen Schnapf took home that first 2020 victory.

As the month of June progressed, a doubleheader World of Outlaw Sprint event was held on the weekend of June 19/20. Carson Short was Friday night’s winner and Carson Macedo sat in victory lane on Saturday evening. This event was televised and shown live on CBS Sports Network. The scheduled June 27th Class Track Mania race was rained out.

The only race held in July was the American Classic and local favorite Kyle Cummins was the MSCS feature winner, UMP Modified winner was Brandon McDowell and Brandon Coffey took home a win in the MMSA Mini-Sprints.

The annual USAC Indiana Sprint Week battled with Mother Nature throughout the week. The scheduled race on August 1 was washed out so new plans were made to finish up the week on Sunday, August 2nd. Kyle Cummins took home the checkers and Chase Stockon was the week-long victor and became the 2020 USAC Sprint Week Champion.

The Hoosier Sprint Nationals held on August 15th saw three divisions in action with MSCS driver Kyle Cummins once again celebrating in victory lane. The IMCA Racesaver feature was won by Bradley Sterrett and the UMP Modified winner was once again Brandon McDowell.

September brought the Labor Day Weekend Challenge with none other than MSCS driver Kyle Cummins finishing first followed by a victory once again in the UMP Modifieds for Brandon McDowell. The Haubstadt Hustler race held on September 19 held a few surprises for many as the original feature winner Kendall Ruble was disqualified later because of altered tires. The $10,000 prize eventually was awarded to Chase Stockon. Justin Jones was the UMP Modified winner.

As the season wound down, The Harvest Cup on Oct. 10 was a night filled with over 100 participants. The MSCS finale saw Kyle Cummins take home the top prize of $5000. Thomas “Tmez” Meseraull was the USAC Midget winner and first- time winner Jaylon Mills topped the field of MMSA Mini-Sprints.

Congratulations to Chase Stockon who was awarded the title of 2020 MSCS Champion at the conclusion of the season. Chase finished out 95 points ahead of second-place finisher Kyle Cummins. Stan Beadles was awarded the 2020 MSCS Rookie of the Year award. He was involved in a fiery crash at the Haubstadt Hustler race in September but was in attendance in October to accept the award much to the delight of the fans.

It was a race season like no other with Covid restrictions in place, high anxiety, and anticipation of unknown limitations to be placed upon us. We look forward to 2021 with plans for a new year, new outlook, and once again, great expectations!

Call Now Button