Tri-State Speedway News Title Card

Haubstadt, IN -May 18, 2019 –  It was a victorious night for four-time champion Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN.  The veteran sprint car racer made a clean sweep of the BRANDEIS Midwest Sprint Car Series portion of the MIDWEST MADNESS event at Tri-State Speedway Saturday night.  Cummins set fast time to start the evening and then won his heat race and the 25 lap feature event.  That victory was worth $2,500.  The sweep also gave Cummins the point lead at the start of the season.

Despite lining up fourth for the feature in a starting field with the top six heat race transfers inverted, Cummins took the lead on lap one.  Then he put the Rock Steady Racing sprinter into auto-motion. He quickly pulled away from the field.  Cummins lapped car after car. The other top five finishers were the only drivers on the lead lap at the finish.

Cummins was at the wheel of a Mach 1 Sprint sponsored by Debra Corn Foster Care, Tim Mason Remax, and Greenwell Auto Body.  The car is owned by Hank Byram of Dupont, IN.  Tim Spindler serves as the crew chief.

Donny Brackett of Ft. Branch, IN, would finish second.  He held off 2018 MIDWEST MADNESS winner Stephen Schnapf along with Kent Schmidt, and Brady Short.  The four competitors completed the top five.  Aric Gentry recovered to finish sixth after being involved in an accident in turn four.  Gentry was forced to make a quick visit to the work area under red flag conditions with only 10 laps to go.  His car had turned over as he was unable to avoid another car driven by Dustin Christie.  Dakota Jackson, Chet Williams, Brian Karraker, and Collin Ambrose rounded out the top ten.

Stephen Schnapf  became the first driver to win the new $100 Certified Rentals Hard Charger Award.  The Evansville, IN, driver gained 9 hard fought spots in the feature.  The Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award was presented to Jadon Rogers.  The first and second heats For the BRANDEIS MSCS Sprints were won by Kent Schmidt and Donny Brackett.

In the Built Ford Tough MOWA Winged Sprints, Paul May of Terre Haute, IN, took the feature victory in a battle with Cory Bruns.  It was a $2,000 pay day for May!  Critter Malone was third followed by Clinton Boyles and Jeremy Standridge. Malone had started 13th and was on the move!  The three MOWA heat races were victories for Paul Nienhiser, Paul May, and Clinton Boyles.  The only sprint car driver present to compete with a winged and a non-wing car was Chayse Hayhurst.  His best finish in the two back to back features was a 12th with the MSCS series.

In the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds Stan Beadles of Owensville, IN, collected the victory along with the $600 feature prize money. Beadles had some strong competition in the form of runner-up Levi Kissinger and Zach Fair who finished third.  It was the closest finish of the program.  Dustin Beck and Lance Foreman rounded out the top five.  Heat race winners were Dustin Beck and Stan Beadles.

The next race at Tri-State Speedway will be The Memorial Weekend Classic on Sunday May 26th featuring the MSCS Sprints, MMSA Mini Sprints, and the UMP Modifieds.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway & MSCS.

Call Now Button