Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted August 30, 2012

     Haubstadt, IN. - August 30.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car
Series will be in action this Sunday night September 2nd at the
Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN.  The series has been the
featured attraction on Labor Day Weekend at the quarter mile facility
since 2004.  Labor Day Weekend is also one of the holiday weekends
each season that provides the best opportunity for the speedway to
offer racing on a Sunday night.  With so many tracks competing on
Saturdays throughout the state and across the region, a Sunday night
show has the prospect of attracting some drivers who do not usually
compete with the series or at the track.

     The Labor Day Weekend Challenge will pay $3,000 to the winner of the
30 lap feature.  The purse also provides $200 to start.  Twenty
drivers will earn starting spots for the feature in the preliminary
events.  MSCS uses passing points in the heat races to determine the
first 16 cars to transfer to the feature.  The top 4 in the B Main
will also transfer to the main.  If eligible one MSCS driver will
also have the option of using a provisional start.

     The Midwest Sprint Car Series has made five appearances at Tri-State
Speedway this season.  Forty-nine different sprint car drivers have
competed at Tri-State Speedway in these contests.  Thirty showed up
on a Sunday night on Memorial Day Weekend earlier this season.  Jon
Stanbrough of Brownsburg, IN, won the feature that night and he
currently leads in MSCS Points.  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, has
moved up to second in the standings.  He has been particularly good
at Haubstadt.  He too has a win at the track this season accompanied
by 2 other top five finishes and no finish further back than an 11th.
 Robert Ballou has two podium finishes at Tri-State Speedway this
A win at Haubstadt could put him back on top the standings.  Ballou is
currently only a point behind Cummins in the standings and 14 behind

  Three other drivers have collected victories at Haubstadt this season.
The three are Hunter Schuerenberg, Brady Short, and most recently
Jonathan Hendrick.  Hendrick collected $5,000 in winning the Hoosier
Sprint Nationals!  All three are regular contenders at the track and
have learned how to negotiate the tight turns and inviting straights of
the Class Track!

     Racing will begin at 7:30 central Time.  Practice is held an hour
prior !  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be on the race card.
Seven different drivers have won features in the modified class at
Tri-State this season.  Trent Young is the only driver that has won
two features.


Share |