Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted May 12, 2012

     Haubstadt, IN, May 12, 2012.  Hunter Schuerenberg won the Spring
Showdown for the USAC and MSCS Sprint Cars at Tri-State Speedway
Saturday Night.  The Sikeston, MO, driver led from the fourth lap to
the final and 30th lap.  Midway through the event he was very fast
and pulling away from the field.  But in the closing laps early
leader Levi Jones began regaining ground lost earlier and closed in.
Schuerenberg sealed the win by lapping another car on the
backstretch.  Jones had started on the pole and led the first 3 laps.
 It was a two car race at the front all thirty laps.

     Schuerenberg's victory was his sixth career win with MSCS.  The Hank
Byram owned, Rock Steady Racing sprinter he drove is sponsored by
Fatheadz and the Howard Johnson Hotel.  Tim Spindler serves as the
crew chief.

     Kevin Thomas Jr. turned in a very competitive performance in
finishing third.  He had to battle his way up through the top ten
after starting ninth.  Three other drivers made strong runs which
included occupying the hotly contested third spot.  Brady Short, then
Chase Stockon, and Daron Clayton sought to first gain and then hold
the spot.  Clayton finished fourth.  Chase Stockon was fifth.  Short
took sixth followed by Jeff Bland Jr., Jerry Coons Jr., Kyle Cummins,
and Wes McIntyre.

     Four heat races were held with Schuerenberg, Jones, Short, and Casey
Riggs winning those.  Twenty nine cars were entered.  With showers
delaying the program for about 90 minutes officials abandoned plans
to qualify and moved immediately into heats using the passing point

     Dave Beck of Petersburg, IN, won the 25 lap UMP Open Wheel Modified
feature.  Twenty-one cars took the green.  Five of those cars crashed
together in the first turn.  The first half of the race was
interrupted by one racing incident after another.  Damaged cars
headed to the pit area.  Drivers spinning or crashing for their
second time joined them.  One multi car crash in turn four brought
out a red flag to allow track personnel the opportunity to untangle
the cars.   Only eight drivers were running at the conclusion of a
memorable feature race.
     Shawn Cates of Evansville, IN, finished second in the feature
followed by Michael Fox, Tyler Weiss, and Tyler Nicely.  Beck, Stan
Beadles, and Stephan Schnapf won the heat races.

     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action again on
Sunday, May 27th.  The Memorial Weekend Classic at Tri-State Speedway
is this season's King of Indiana Sprint Series event.  MSCS and KISS
drivers will both be in competition.  The feature will pay $2,500 to




Share |