Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted October 10, 2011

     Haubstadt, IN - October 8, 2011.  Jon Stanbrough came up with the
winning effort Saturday night to take the MSCS Harvest Cup at
Tri-State Speedway.  The Brownsburg, IN, sprint car driver led from
the 25th lap on after a duel with Brady Short in which the two
swapped the lead in some intense moments as they battled into and out
of the turns on the speedway.  Stanbrough then withstood threats from
Kyle Cummins and Blake Fitzpatrick to make it a three car race for
the lead.  Cummins took his cause all the way up to and against the
wall looking for more speed.  A restart with 3 laps to go provided
new incentive.  Stanbrough refused to give up any ground and he took
the $4,000 first prize.  Cummins finished second and Fitzpatrick
     The victory was Stanbrough's second of the season with MSCS and his
18th feature win in MSCS competition.  He was piloting the Fox
Brothers sprinter.  "Our car was really good.  I could have run
harder!"  The veteran had every reason to feel confident.  "I have
been in situations before where a yellow came out with a few laps to
go and you just cannot worry about it, but do what you are supposed
to do.  It worked out tonight."
     Wes McIntyre and Jonathan Hendrick worked their way up to earn top
five finishes.  Hendrick earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard
Charger of the Race in a charge from 18th on the starting grid to
fifth.  The feat and two previous Keizer Charger Awards this year
combined to earn him the MSCS Hard Charger of the Year Award.
     Robert Ballou switched cars for the final MSCS race of the season and
took the Tate -Roberts Racing entry to a sixth place finish.  Braylon
Fitzpatrick borrowed an engine to compete in the event and finished
seventh.  Joshua Clemons turned his first MSCS encounter of the
season into an eighth place finish.  MSCS regulars Chase Stockon and
Chase Briscoe were ninth and tenth at the finish.  Adam Nigg finished
eleventh thus receiving the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award for the race.
     The feature was run in fleeting segments as the result of recurrent
yellow or red flags.  Braylon Fitzpatrick was able to have a cut rear
tire replaced and continue during the first caution.  Adam Nigg's
crew replaced a flat front tire in the work area during another
caution.  Two laps later a spin in turn two brought out the yellow
again.  Then Brady Short was involved in an incident on the
backstretch which brought out a yellow on lap 30.  A red flag flew
with 37 laps completed when Dakota Jackson's car rolled in turn four.
 Jackson also had his car catch fire during the first heat.
     The three heat races were won by Kyle Cummins, Critter Malone, and
Brady Short.  Short earned the most passing points.  The redraw for
the top six in passing points put Short & Stanbrough on the front row
for the feature.
     Brady Short and car owner Don Short received their 2011 MSCS
Championship trophies in a post race presentation.  Braylon
Fitzpatrick likewise received the MSCS Rookie of the Year Award.  As
an interesting note Braylon won the B Main earlier in the evening in
a battle with last year's MSCS Rookie of the Year Jonathan Hendrick.
     The MSCS Harvest Cup concluded the season for the Hoosier Tire
Midwest Sprint Car Series.  It was also the last race at Tri-State
Speedway this season.  MSCS would like to acknowledge its sponsors.
They include Hoosier Tire Midwest, AFCO, Hinchman Indy Racing
Uniforms, Wilwood,  Hilborn Fuel Injection,  Keizer Aluminum Wheels,
Race Bumpers.Com, Rod End Supply, and Saldana Racing Products.


     Haubstadt, IN - Oct. 8 Continued.  Levi Kissinger of Mt. Vernon, IN,
won the UMP Open Wheel Modified feature to complete the remainder of
the racing program Saturday night.  It was Kissinger's second win at
Tri-State Speedway this season.  He also won on opening night in
     Trent Young was second in the 25 lap event.  He was looking for win
number two.  Veteran Everett Bradham finished third.  Twenty of the
35 cars assembled to race in the season finale made the feature
field.  Brandon McDowell and Michael Fox rounded out the top five.
     Illinois drivers Terry Messenger and Billy Lewis won the two B Mains.
  Heat race victories went to Stephen Schnapf, Stan Beadles, Levi
Kissinger, and Dave Baldwin.
     Kenny Schrader was among ten drivers making their first appearance at
the track for the season.  Schrader's modified sported a special pink
paint scheme in support of Breast Cancer Awareness and he made the
feature field easily with a runner-up heat race finish.




Share |