Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted August 2, 2011

     Haubstadt, IN - July 30, 2011.  Veteran driver Levi Jones of Swansea,
IL, grabbed a spirited victory Saturday night in winning the seventh
annual Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Tri-State Speedway.  Jones led the
last half of the 40 lap feature event after firing past early leader
Wes McIntyre as the two fought for position coming off of turn four
on lap 19.  Jones then won the race to the finish line in the Jack
Rogers owned sprinter as defending MSCS Champion Blake Fitzpatrick
charged up to make a final last lap challenge for the victory.
     The lead pack of 3 or 4 cars was often immersed in heavy traffic
during the feature as the green stayed out for the final 21 laps!
Seventeen of the 21 starters finished a race in which the action was
so fast and compelling to watch with battles forming all around the
quarter mile oval.
     Jones stopped on the backstretch after the win to salute the fans
sitting on the west side of the facility before reporting to the
victory celebration on the front straightaway.    Jones came prepared
with a new sprint car and motor finished during the week.  That
combined with his experience paid off with a victory worth $5,000.
It was the first Hoosier Sprint Nationals victory for Jones.  He
became the sixth different winner in the six HSN shows held.
    Once Blake Fitzpatrick broke into the lead pack of Jones, McIntyre,
and Jon Stanbrough the race up front changed.  Fitzpatrick realized
the runner-up spot after starting fifth.  Wes McIntyre was impressive
with a third place finish in only his second visit to the track.
McIntyre was very complimentary.  "It was a clean race and a great
track to race on with 4 lanes.  I love it here and look forward to
coming back!"   Former Hoosier Sprint Nationals winners Jon Stanbrough
and Brady Short were fourth and fifth thus forming a stupendous top
five for the 2011version.  Short is also the current MSCS Points
     Chase Stockon topped the second five in finishing in sixth place
followed by rookie Braylon Fitzpatrick, pole sitter Critter Malone,
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Casey Riggs, and
Robert Ballou.  Riggs took a promoter's option and started last in a
back-up car after an axel snapped on his primary car in a wild flip
during the heat race.  He gained 12 positions in the feature.  Robert
Ballou also made the best of on track misfortune in fighting back to
recover positions after restarting at the back of the field following
an incident that brought out a yellow flag in the feature.   Kyle
Cummins picked up the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing
eleventh.  Hud Cone was twelfth after making his first MSCS start of
the season.
     The three qualifying heats were won by Levi Jones, Wes McIntyre, and
Jon Stanbrough.  Blake Fitzpatrick led the 21 car field in passing
points earned during those heats.  He finished second in the second
heat after starting seventh.


     Haubstadt, IN - July 30, 2011.  Trent Young of Hopkinsville, KY, won
the 25 lap UMP Modified feature Saturday night to close out the
seventh racing program to be held at Tri-State Speedway this season.
Young became the seventh different feature winner in seven nights of
racing at Haubstadt.

     Young, who was behind the wheel of the Hamby 1H, started on the
outside of the first row for the event and outran fellow heat race
winner and runner-up Zach Fair of Petersburg, IN.  Veteran Ed
Shamhart of Olney, IL, finished in third place followed by Brandon
McDowell and Kyle Decker.

     McDowell and Decker also won heat races with a total of four being
held for the 34 entrants.  Shamhart was the only driver able to move
up and gain a spot amongst the pack of front running heat race
winners.  Tyler Nicely and Will Krup just missed making the top five.
 Two B Mains were held with Bryce Jewell and Chad Boone the winners.




Share |