Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 6, 2017

      Haubstadt, IN - Sept. 3, 2017 -  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, captured Sunday night’s 30 lap feature event for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  It was not an easy task and his effort produced twice the excitement.  Cummins lined up thirteenth in the 20 car field.  He became involved in a first lap incident involving three cars that were exiting turn three.  All three restarted at the tail.  All three would fight their way back to post top ten finishes.  But Cummins did not stop in his progression past cars until he took the lead with 2 laps to go.

     The completed “Labor Day Weekend Challenge” more than lived up to its promise.  Kyle Cummins delivered on that promise of excitement with an all out effort and collected the $3,000 check for the Rock Steady Racing team and owner Hank Byram.  The run also earned Cummins the contingency award as the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.

     Briscoe Motorsports driver Thomas Meseraull started on the pole for the feature and would lead throughout.  Lap after lap Max McGhee took up the challenge.  The two sped away as Donny Brackett worked on a possible third place finish.  McGhee had to give up the chase after losing his brakes.  Brackett’s car ran out of fuel with 2 laps to go.  The top five changed.

      Meseraull would finish second by a .6 of a second having proved that he was the one you had to beat in order to win.  MSCS Points leader Brady Short moved up to third.  Carson Short was fourth in his return to MSCS competition after being injured on August 5th.  Jarett Andretti completed the race in fifth despite a mid race stop in the work area.

     Chase Stockon was sixth and was the last car scored on the lead lap. Brian Karraker, Aric Gentry, Chet Williams, and Brandon Mattox rounded out the top ten.  Jadon Rogers collected the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award with an 11th place finish.

     Heat Race Winners included Carson Short, James Lyerla, and Max McGhee.  Chase Stockon won the B Main.  There were some unfortunate moments.  Brian Wallace flipped his sprint against the wall on the backstretch during the B.  Ben Knight flipped his car in turn two halfway through the A Main.

     The next event for the MSCS Sprint Cars will be the Haubstadt Hustler which is scheduled for Saturday September 16th.  This event is co-sanctioned by USAC and MSCS.  The best of the best will be competing for the $10,000 to win.  This year an extra $2,500 in Bonus Money will be presented to the feature winner by Unique Breedz Inc.

     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds also competed during this racing program.  Clay Lane raced his 25C modified to victory in the 25 lap feature which paid $1,000 to win.  It was the Fort Branch, Indiana, driver’s first win.  He also won the first heat race.  Dave Beck placed second in the feature with Matt Hines, Tyler Weiss, and Dustin Beck rounding out the top five.

     Stan Beadles set the fastest time in group qualifying with a lap of 15.926 seconds.  Matt Lane and Dave Beck took the second and third heats.  Roger Jackson led the B Main competitors in posting the win.
Twenty of the twenty six drivers present transferred to and started the feature.

     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will return in two weeks.  They will be competing on Saturday September 16th during the Haubstadt Hustler. That night an extra $2500 cash has been posted for the modified A Main winner by Unique Breedz.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.



Share |