Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted August 7, 2017

    Haubstadt, IN - August 5, 2017 -  Kevin Thomas, Jr. powered his way
to a 2017 Hoosier Sprint Nationals victory.  It was his second win at
this event which has been presented by Tri-State Speedway since its
inception in 2005.  The Cullman, Alabama, driver picked up a check
for $5,000.  “It’s great to be back in victory lane.”  What a ride he
gave that 9K sprint car!

    Thomas led all 40 laps of the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series
event.  He started on the pole by virtue of a first heat win and a
zero inversion on the redraw.  Yet all kinds of excitement would fill
the moist air.  The 4 wide parade lap was omitted with the threat of
incoming showers.  The green flag waved and action prevailed.  There
were 5 yellow flags during the first 5 laps.  The work area in the
pits was busy with multiple visitors.

    Drivers then got down to the business of racing and the green light
stayed on until lap 20.  At that point Kyle Cummins had managed to
pass Robert Ballou to move into second place.  The challenge was on
for the lead.  Cummins would gain in turn two and Thomas would find
momentum off four.  But an expected last lap showdown was averted
when Cummin’s car began smoking.  Kyle dealt with the disappointment.
“It overheated with 5 or 6 laps to go.  I back-peddled and tried to
finish the race.”  Cummins held on to take second.

    Three time Hoosier Sprint Nationals winner Brady Short made a great
run to finish third.  Short started the feature in the last row after
making a quick stop in the work area before the initial start.  He
was also in a minor incident during the first five laps.  Then there
was no holding him back in a drive that earned him the Keizer
Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.  “I got myself in
rhythm and the car was working in the middle of the corners.”  Second
heat winner Robert Ballou would finish fourth.  B Main winner Thomas
Meseraull gained 11 spots to finish fifth in the Briscoe 5 Sprinter.

    The second five in the MSCS feature included fast qualifier Jarett
Andretti, Chase Stockon, Tyler Thomas, Donny Brackett, and Brian
Karraker.  Karraker also won the third heat race.  Garrett Aitken
received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award with an 11th place finish.
One red flag came out during the feature.  Carson Short was running
seventh when his car went airborne, rolled, and landed on top of the
wall between turns one and two.

    The Midwest Sprint Car Series will return to Tri-State Speedway for
the Labor Day Weekend Challenge on Sunday September 3rd. 


    Dave Beck continued in a winning way by taking his second UMP Open
Wheel Modified feature in a row at the track.  Matt Lane and Trent
Young completed the 25 laps in second and third.  Clay Lane, and
Phillip Hill rounded out the top five.  All 21 cars started the

    Stan Beadles began the on track activity by setting the fast overall
time in group qualifying.  He also won his heat race.  The other two
heats were victories for Trent Young and Joel Jenson.

     Rod Henning won the MMSA mini sprint feature.  He is on a personal
win streak, having won the feature at all three appearances the
class has made at Haubstadt this season.  Andrew Bradley finished
second.  Henning and Bradley also won the two heat races.  Jesse
Vermillion finished third in the feature followed by Scott Bradley
and Jacob Samm.  MMSA will also be back at Tri-State one more time
this season.  That date is the track season finale on October 7th.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway and MSCS.



Share |