Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 29, 2017


     Haubstadt, IN - June 25, 2017 -  The UMP DIRTcar Summernationals tour stopped at Tri-State Speedway Sunday night and late models fans were treated to a fast competitive show.  The feature paid $5,000 to win!
Three drivers battled up front throughout the 40 lap event.  Fast qualifier Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, stayed in command until the checkers by using the quicker line around the outer perimeter of the track.  That line required him to master the cushion while protecting his lead over Shannon Babb and Bobby Pierce.
     Shannon Babb and Tyler Erb exchanged the lead the first lap and then the chase was on.  Babb & Pierce were battling for second while trying to overtake or dive underneath the high flying Erb.  Babb would hold off Pierce to claim second place.  The three drivers were the class of the field and pulled away from the main pack of cars which was led by Billy Moyer who would finish fourth.  Dennis Erb Jr.
made a late race charge to finish fifth.
    A field of  31 late models was trimmed down to 22 to start the feature.  Heat races to transfer drivers to the main event were won by Tyler Erb, Shannon Babb, and Billy Moyer.  Kent Robinson was strong in winning the B Main.  There were several restarts in these events as anxious and aggressive drivers looked to improve their chance to make the show.  During the feature there were also caution periods at lap 9, 13, and 28.
     The victory lane ceremony introduced a new Summernational winner to the fans.  This was Tyler Erb’s first series win.  The true competitor had towed 8 and a half hours after racing in Pittsburgh, PA, the night before.  “I am really excited.  This is a great facility.  It is my first time here.  It means quite a bit to have a dominate car all night!”  Erb had a perfect night in setting fast time and winning his heat and the feature.  His Rocket race car is sponsored by First Class Septic.
     The Summit UMP DIRTcar Modified Nationals event presented to conclude the program was won by Levi Kissinger.  Kissinger started on the pole and led a continuous chase for 25 laps.  Matt Lane was in close pursuit until the last 5 laps.  The top five drivers were applying added pressure.  Trent Young found the speed on top to take second while Kenny Wallace worked the bottom to claim third.  Lane dropped back to fourth but held off Zach Fair in fifth.
     Kissinger’s victory came at an opportune time.  The feature paid
$1500 to win.  “I would be the first to admit that we’ve struggled this year.  Having experience played a hand tonight with the cushion up there on the track.  It is time that we got one.  This is a cool deal!”
     The 36 modifieds were divided into four heat races.  Top qualifier Mark Lamont, Levi Kissinger, Tyler Weiss, and Stan Beadles won those events.  Dustin Beck won the B Main.
     The open wheel modifieds will be back in action Sunday July 2nd.
That night Tri-State Speedway will be presenting the Sprint Stampede featuring the MSCS Sprints and the MOWA Winged Sprints.  It will be a triple header.  “The Class Track” will also be celebrating it’s 60th continuous year of operation.

Provided as News and Information for the Tri-State Speedway.



Share |