Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 13, 2017

     Haubstadt, IN - June 10, 2017 -  Chase Stockon became the first driver to repeat as a feature winner this season in Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series competition.  The Fort Branch, IN, driver took the lead on the very first lap of the “Summer Showdown” and managed to lead the field throughout the 25 lap event.  In victory lane Stockon relayed that his car was loose and he was “hanging on!“ The $2,500 winner’s check was his second in a row at Tri-State Speedway.

     However the race was not decided until the final laps.  Robert Ballou was running in second place and looking for a line to give him the best opportunity to make a winning move when he was passed by the oncoming Carson Short.  Short, who leads in the MSCS points standings, would finish second to top off a “good points’ night.”

Ballou held on to third with his car sputtering and low on fuel. “There were too many cautions for our car.”  In all the feature was interrupted 7 times by caution flags.

      Brady Short would complete a drive up from the depths of the 22 car starting field to finish fourth.  The “Bedford Blaster” was competing in an Arizona based sprint car in order to get it set-up for use later in the season out West.  The effort provided a total gain of  14 spots.  Short raced through the heart of the field to claim the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.

     Donny Brackett also provided another all out effort in finishing fifth.  That was the best MSCS finish so far this season for the local driver.  The Haubstadt speedster was pulling wheelies in his heat.

     Chris Malone led the second five which included Dakota Jackson, Jadon Rogers, Kent Schmidt, and Brandon Morin.  Jackson was shaking down a new car and worked to make up for a poor start when he spun on the first lap.  Earlier he had set fast time with a 13.704 lap.  Rogers celebrated his 15th birthday with his best top ten finish of the season.

     Rookie Ben Knight was eleventh which provided him with the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  The three heat races were won in order by Max McGhee, Kent Schmidt, and Chase Stockon.

 In companion racing action the victory in the UMP Open Wheel Modified feature went to Kentucky’s Trent Young.  Young had also set the fastest time of all qualifiers with a 15.360 lap.  Zach Fair was second in the 25 lap feature followed by Matt Lane, Tyler Weiss, and Stan Beadles.  Fair, Young, and Weiss also won heat races.  Shawn Cates took the B Main over Alan Bowling.
     The modified drivers will be on the racing card on June 25th when the UMP Late Model Summernationals will be held at the track. The late models will be running for a $5,000 top prize and the accompanying  Summit Modifeds will be competing for $1,000.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.




Share |