Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted May 29, 2017


     Haubstadt, IN. - May 28, 2017 -  Chase Stockon won the annual “Memorial Weekend  Classic” held at the Tri-State Speedway and sanctioned by the Midwest Sprint Car Series.  The 25 lap event paid
$2,500 to win.  Stockon also won this particular event in 2016.  The Fort Branch, IN, driver found the opportunity he needed on lap 19 when he passed Max McGhee and took command of the remainder of the race.

     Alongside his car parked in victory lane, Stockon reflected on the run.  “In starting sixth this was tough to do.  I managed to maneuver and get by him in lapped traffic.”  The effort also earned the driver the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.  It was a straight up start for the field based on heat race results.  Having a fast car with a smooth operator helped.  The combination was also responsible for setting the overall fast time at 13. 929 seconds.

     Placing second in this one after a terrific effort was Max McGhee. McGhee jumped into the lead from the second row at the start and opened up the lead.  The chase was on.He led for 18 circuits in the contest.  It was, as he suggested, “exciting for the fans!”

     The two Shorts ran third and fourth in the main.  They began the race paired up on the front row and stayed in the hunt.  Brady Short took third.  Carson Short finished fourth.  The two also had collected heat race wins.  McGhee won the third heat.  Kyle Cummins moved up through the field to take the final top five spot.

     Donny Brackett was sixth followed by Robert Ballou, Dakota Jackson, Brandon Morin, and Aric Gentry.  Chet Williams picked up the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing eleventh.  Kent Schmidt won the B Main.  Second in the twelve lapper was rookie competitor Stephen Schnapf.  It was Schnapf’s first night in a sprint car.

     Circumstances sidelined a couple of drivers early in the event.  Kyle Stearns scratched for the evening after an accident in turn four during group qualifying.  Critter Malone’s car stopped off turn four with an oil fire in the third heat.

     Stan Beadles of Owensville, IN, won the 25 lap UMP Open Wheel Modified feature.  The event was completed in short order.  Zach Fair was the runner-up followed by Matt Lane, Dustin Beck, and Tyler Weiss. The three heat victors were Matt Lane, Zach Fair, and Clay Lane.

     The MMSA Mini Sprints competed to wrap up the triple header.  Rod Henning was victorious in finishing ahead of Beau Binder, Andrew Bradley, Jesse Vermillion, and Scott Bradley.  Henning and Binder won the two preliminary heats.

     The MSCS Sprint Cars will be returning to Tri-State Speedway on June10 for their next race.  The “Summer Showdown” pays $2,500 to the Sprint Car feature winner.  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be in competition and it is a special event for them.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.



Share |