Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 17, 2013


     Haubstadt, IN - September 14, 2013.  Kevin Thomas Jr. earned $10,000
Saturday night in winning the 6th annual Haubstadt Hustler at
Tri-State Speedway.  The event was co-sanctioned by the United States
Auto Club and the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  Thomas
became the sixth different winner in the six year history of the
     Victory Lane at Haubstadt is becoming a regular stop for the Cullman,
AL, driver.  When the 40 laps were over the RW Tristar Motorsport
Black Jack Oil Co. Maxim/Fisher was parked there again.  Thomas noted
in the post race interview that the track had held moisture longer.
"The car was liking traffic.  I was getting through it pretty good.
We had a good car from lap 25 on."  The victory was his fourth at
Tri-State Speedway this year and tenth overall at the various tracks.
      Kevin Thomas Jr. started third in the 23 car feature field and took
over the lead on lap 27.  He then made fast work of the next 13
laps.  Early leader Brady Short was second after starting on the
pole and leading those first 26 laps.  Brady Bacon ran third.  Jon
Stanbrough and Kyle Cummins rounded out the top five for the event.
     Chase Stockon headed the second five with a run from 17th to sixth to
earn him the night's Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger Award.
Daron Clayton was seventh and also on the move in the late stages of
the race.  Tracy Hines, Bryan Clauson, and Shane Cottle rounded out
the top 10.  Robert Ballou received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in
finishing 11th after missing his heat and having to earn a starting
spot in the B Main.
     Chase Stockon won that 12 lap B Main.  His transport had broken down
in route to the track. The win provided added momentum to a race day
that had started on the down side.  The four heat races were quick
victories for Dave Darland, Tracy Hines, Brady Bacon, and Kevin
Thomas Jr.  Bacon's win in heat three was with a last lap pass.
     The feature event finished with a red flag replacing the checkers as
A.J. Hopkins' car flipped in turn four.  Hopkins had also brought out
a yellow flag with a spin in turn one with just 2 laps on the board.
Green flag racing dominated the Hustler.  The only other caution was
to allow Dave Darland's car to exit the speedway.  The USAC Points
leader had been running second.  At one point in the race the 2013
KISS Champion, the MSCS Points leader, and the USAC Points leader
were the three drivers battling for the lead.
     At a special ceremony prior to the racing event Brady Short was
awarded the 2013 KISS Championship Awards Simpson Helmet custom
painted by Jeff Van Horn.
     In UMP Open Wheel Modified racing Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh, IN,
won the 25 lap feature.  After leading throughout, Schnapf was faced
with the task of holding off Zach Fair for a green, white, checkers
finish.  Schnapf protected the bottom the final two circuits.  That
stopped Fair's progress forwards from a tenth starting spot and he
finished second.  Dustin Beck was third followed by Dave Beck and
Lance Foreman.
     Schnapf was pleased with the win.  "We got a late start this year.
We did not get the new car until June.  Then we didn't get the car
out until July.  I would like to thank Mark Bush Racing.  It is an
awesome car and team."
     The next race for MSCS will be at Tri-State Speedway on September
28th.  This is a new event which was added to this year's track
schedule.  The Saturday night program will be a triple header.  The
ALMS Late Models and UMP Modifieds will also be racing.  The MSCS
feature will pay $2,000 to win.



Share |