Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 9, 2013


     Haubstadt, IN - September 6, 2013.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint

Car Series and the United State Auto Club will once again co-sanction

this year's Haubstadt Hustler at Tri-State Speedway.  This year's event on

Saturday, September 14th will be the sixth annual.
     The large purse, which pays $10,000 to win, combined with the
involvement of the two sanctioning bodies ensures a quality field of
top cars and drivers.  The average car count based on the five
previous races stands at 38.  Twenty two cars will start the 40 lap
feature.  The program will be conducted using the MSCS format and
drivers will qualify into the feature by earning the most passing
points in the heat races or by finishing in the top six in the B
     The Haubstadt Hustler is presented each year within a month of the
closing of the Midwest racing season.  It is a time when drivers are
at the top of their game.  Some have switched rides in an effort to
be more competitive.  Others are already enjoying success. They are
on strong teams and working at winning a season title or placing high
enough in a series  driver standings to take a slice of the point
fund or various contingency awards.
     Last year's Haubstadt Hustler was an exciting  race that produced
memories that are forever etched in the minds of those present. 
Daron Clayton was in top form and won the feature after starting way
back in 18th place.  The Modern Day Cowboy was the ultimate Haubstadt
Hustler that evening.  He also became the 5th different winner in the
running of this event.  No driver has had that second victory yet.
Previous winners include Jeff Bland Jr., Bryan Clauson, Jon
Stanbrough, and Casey Riggs.
     Bland, Stanbrough, and Clayton were present to compete in the MSCS
Labor Day Weekend Classic at Tri-State Speedway which was rained out.
 Some driver/car changes were in the offering.  Bland was signed in
to drive the Burton 04 and Clayton was entered in the Rock Steady
Racing 35 that night.
     Bryan Clauson is currently second in USAC points behind veteran Dave
Darland.  The involvement of USAC in this show since 2011 has added
to the challenge presented and sense of accomplishment awaiting the
winning team.  A victory in the Haubstadt Hustler would certainly be
deserving of smoking, double victory doughnuts
     Looking at the potential field for this season's Haubstadt Hustler is
looking at a list of who is who in 410 non wing sprint car racing.
Kevin Thomas Jr. leads the MSCS points standings with Chase Stockon
currently the closest challenger.  Thomas, Stockon, Jon Stanbrough.
Robert Ballou, and Hunter Schuerenberg are in the top twelve in
points for both MSCS and USAC.  The outcome of this race has added
impact for these five drivers.
     Other drivers that follow these two series and are in the top ten in
their respective series are Brady Bacon, Chase Briscoe, Shane Cottle,
Kyle Cummins, Tracy Hines, Dakota Jackson, Brady Short, Bradley
Sterrett, and Chris Windom.
     Actual Racing will begin with the first heat race taking the green
flag at 7:30 P.M.
Practice is scheduled for an hour earlier.  The pit gates will open at
3:30.  For early arrivals the grandstands will open at 4:30.  The track is
in the Central Time Zone.   The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be
racing to complete the card.



Share |