Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted July 19, 2013

     Haubstadt, IN - July 18, 2013.  Indiana Sprint Week continues this
week with the finale scheduled to be held at the Tri-State Speedway
in Haubstadt, IN.  The event on Saturday night July 20th will be
sanctioned by the United States Auto Club.  It will be the seventh
race scheduled to be held at seven different tracks in a nine day
period. The 410 sprint car teams involved spent the first weekend
racing at dirt tracks in northern and east central Indiana before
heading south and west for the final 4 races.
     This is year 26 for Indiana Sprint week.   The title chase this year
is shaping up to be another tight battle.  Points leaders so far have
been three time Sprint Week Champion Dave Darland and an aspiring
Kevin Thomas Jr.  After the first four ISW events Darland also
continued to remain at the top of the 2013 USAC National Championship
Points Standings.  Racing each night affects both standings.
     The feature event Saturday night for the USAC Sprint Cars will pay
$5,000 to win.  Kevin Thomas Jr. of Cullman, AL, has dominated the
early sprint week action in winning the last three feature events.
Veteran Jon Stanbrough took the opening night feature.  Stanbrough
won last season's ISW feature at Tri-State Speedway.  Thomas already
has two sprint car victories at Tri-State Speedway this season.  One
was at a USAC/MSCS combined show and the other at a MSCS sanctioned
     Qualifications are an integral part of a USAC racing program.  They
will begin at 6:30 with heat racing beginning at 7:30.  Drivers will
be competing to set the quickest time.  Dave Darland turned the
quarter mile Haubstadt oval at last year's event in 13.234 seconds.
Tri-State Speedway is the only track on the sprint week schedule that
is in the central time zone.
     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be participating in this
special program.
     Reserved seating is available for events at Tri-State Speedway. The
number to call to arrange for tickets is 812-768-6025.


Levi Jones 2012, 2009, 2008, 2004
Chris Windom 2011
Jon Stanbrough 2010, 2006,
Dave Darland 2007, 2001, 1998
Cory Kruseman 2005, 2002
J.J. Yeley 2003, 1997
Jay Drake 2000
Tony Elliott 1999,
Kevin Thomas 1996, 1995, 1993, 1992
Kelly Kinser 1994
Bobby Kinser 1991
Chuck Amati 1990 (Tie), 1989
Gary Trammell 1990 (Tie)
Randy Kinser 1988

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.


Share |