Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 16, 2013

   Haubstadt, IN - June 15, 2013.  Kevin Thomas Jr. of Cullman, AL,
proved to be the driver to watch Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway
as he snatched another feature victory in Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint
Car Series competition.  Thomas started 9th in the 20 car field and
was looking at one difficult march to the front and just 25 laps to
do it in.
     Upon arrival at lap 19 the MSCS points leader found the top spot
occupied by defending MSCS Champion Jon Stanbrough.  It took an all
out effort as Thomas made the pass on the final lap to earn the
$2,000 first place money.  Stanbrough would finish second.  Brady
Short was third with Wes McIntyre and Daron Clayton rounding out the
top five for the non wing portion of the Southern Indiana Sprint Car
     Kevin Thomas was in the Michael Dutcher Motorsports 17rw sponsored by
Black Jack Oil.  He has now won two of the three features MSCS has
completed this season.  In victory lane Thomas prefaced his remarks
about the race by dedicating the victory to the memory of  sprint car
and NASCAR driver Jason Leffler.  K.T. then continued.  "This was a
great race to put on.  I think we put on a heck of a show."  The
Stampede was a new addition to the Tri-State Speedway schedule.  He
concluded the interview in complimentary style.  "Jon is the best of
the best."  Two of the best took it to the final lap.
     Wes McIntyre put on a great show in leading the first eighteen laps
of the Stampede.  He started outside of row one.  Eventually the
battle for position moved up to include him.  Stanbrough arrived
having taken second from pole sitter Robert Ballou.  As these two
paced the field some drivers were still inching forward in the pack
as others fell back.  Hunter Schuerenberg finished sixth followed by
Kyle Cummins, Robert Ballou, rookie Bradley Sterrett, and Chase
     The winner Kevin Thomas also took the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard
Charger of the Race Award by gaining eight spots.  He started back in
the middle of the field.  Chase Briscoe received the Wilwood Tuff
Brakes Award as the eleventh place finisher in the main.  Hunter
Schuerenberg, Jon Stanbrough, and Brady Short won the three heat
Stanbrough started last and finished first in his heat to earn the most
passing points.

The Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) presented a program of
winged sprint car racing to complete the twin bill Saturday night.
Shane Stewart of Bixby, OK, won the 25 lap feature.  He was followed
by MOWA points leader A.J. Bruns. Greg Wilson, Jerrod Hull, and Jimmy
Hurley.  MSCS campaigner Robert Ballou was the only driver to do
double duty.  He put a wing on his own number 12x car and finished
sixth.  MOWA Preliminaries included 3 heats, a dash, and a B-Main.
Bruns, Hull, and Hurley won the heats.  Paul Nienhiser took the dash
with Cory Bruns winning the B Main.   For complete results visit
     The MSCS series will return to Tri-State Speedway on June 29th!



Share |