Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted May 13, 2013

     Haubstadt, IN - May 11, 2013 - Kevin Thomas Jr. won the MSCS and USAC
co-sanctioned feature Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.  Although
Thomas led most of the 30 lap event in the Dutcher/RW/Tri-Star
Sprinter he found himself under mounting pressure from Robert Ballou
in the Baldwin Brothers Sprint.  Both had won their heats!
     Ballou took the lead on lap 20 of the feature but lost it back to
Thomas on lap 25 as the dual continued.  Thomas swept by as Ballou
corrected his line in turn four.  Thomas then paced the field the
last 6 laps to earn his very first Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car
Series feature victory.  His hot streak in Amsoil United States Auto
Club competition now includes a third national win in a row.
     After an open throttle, on track celebration, Thomas responded to
questions in victory lane.  "What a great feeling it is to win 3
races in a row!  Robert and I had a great race.  I was lucky in
qualifying so I got to start on the pole.  After struggling in local
shows the last few races it is great to come back here and get a
     Robert Ballou took his turn at the microphone.  "I felt we had the
race car to beat when we unloaded tonight.  I just made a mistake out
there."  The drive he characterized as a "letdown" was actually a
very strong, competitive second place run which kept him well ahead
of most of the trouble.
     USAC points leader Chase Stockon made a couple of tough late race
passes to move up from fifth to third.  Brady Short also moved up to
finish fourth.  Dave Darland settled for fifth.  Levi Jones was next
with fast qualifier Wes McIntyre, Landon Simon, Hunter Schuerenberg,
and Brady Bacon rounding out the top ten.
     Landon Simon was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race
in advancing 11 spots in the feature.  Chase Briscoe was also on the
move improving 10 places after using an MSCS provisional opportunity.
 Casey Schuman was 11th on the field which earned him the Wilwood
Tuff Brakes Award for the event.
     The feature was interrupted numerous times with spinning cars or
contact between cars.  Fans saw the yellow flag waved seven times.
The first caution was the longest as the track crew was compelled to
renew efforts to separate the cars of Tracy Hines and Shane Cottle.
The two cars had hooked together and proved to be almost inseparable.
 The only driver to flip his car was C.J. Leary.  Leary's crash on
the front stretch brought out a red flag.  At that point race
officials elected to have an open red.  Crews were allowed to come
onto the track to refuel and attend to the cars.
     Seth Parker won the Semi Feature.  Dakota Jackson and Daron Clayton
took the other two heat races.  The field included 34 entries!



     Zach Fair was victorious in the UMP Open Wheel Modified division.
The Petersburg, IN, driver led throughout the 25 lap event to record
his first win at the track this season.  The battle behind him for
second grew and grew until it was a four or five car contest.  Trent
Young finished ahead of Josh Harris to earn the runner-up spot.
Tyler Nicely and Dave Beck completed the top five.  NASCAR's Ken
Schrader finished sixth in the event and Brian Shaw was seventh.
Shaw had battled his way up to second before encountering problems
with the high line he was using to generate momentum.
     Young, Fair, and Stephen Schnapf won the three heats.  Shawn Cates
took the B Main.
The modifieds will be on the card again for the upcoming Memorial Weekend



Share |