Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted May 8, 2012

     Haubstadt, IN, May 6, 2012.  The first non-wing sprint car race of
the season at Tri-State Speedway is scheduled to be held on Saturday
evening May 12th.  In concept it offers to showcase the best sprint
car racing talent from here in the Midwest and across the entire
nation.  The United States Auto Club sprint cars will join the
Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series in a "Spring Showdown"
projected to be one of the most competitive racing events of the
season.  The program will be highlighted by a thirty lap feature
paying $5,000 to win.

     For this USAC/MSCS co-sanctioned event the program will be conducted
using the USAC format and in accordance with the USAC Official
Competition Rules.  Drivers will qualify and compete for feature
starting spots in heat races and a B Main.  Practice begins at 6 P.M.
C.D.T. with qualifying to follow.  Racing is set to begin at 7:30

     The USAC Sprint Car season began with winter racing in Florida and
then resumed in the Midwest in April.  USAC Drivers have been able to
compete in and complete 3 of 6 shows scheduled so far this season.
Damion Gardner, Darren Hagen, and Hunter Schuerenberg were the
winners.  Rain prevailed the other three times.

     The May 12th Spring Showdown will only be the third opportunity for
the MSCS contingency to race this season.  Robert Ballou took the
series opener at Terre Haute on April 22nd.  Thomas Meseraull won at
Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 5th.

    All drivers will earn points for the series they are licensed with and
some drivers will earn points towards both series titles!  The
co-sanctioned event has a lot of money on the line with a purse that
pays $500 to start.  Twenty two cars will make up the regular starting
field.  Provisional use by USAC or MSCS drivers could expand the

     This will be the earliest in the season that the two series have
shared a race card at Tri-State Speedway.  This race should have a
different impact in that more drivers can earn enough points to move
up nearer to the top of the standings.  These bids could be for a top
ten spot or an all important series title.

     Levi Jones is the defending USAC Champion and he has been making
successful runs at Tri-State Speedway for more than a decade.  Brady
Short is the defending MSCS Champion and he has picked up three of
his seven career MSCS feature wins at Tri-State Speedway.  The all
time leader in MSCS career wins is Jon Stanbrough.  Stanbrough
currently leads the USAC sprint car standings heading into the
"Spring Showdown" at Tri-State Speedway.  Robert Ballou's early
season victory put him at the top of the driver standings in the
initial release of the 2012 MSCS Points Standings.

     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also appear on the program with the
sprint cars. Over 30 modifieds filled the pits at the season opener for the speedway in
April. .



Share |