Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted July 11, 2011

     Haubstadt, IN - July 11,2011  Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL, won the 40
lap UMP Late Model feature race Sunday night at the Tri-State
Speedway.  The Summer Nationals event paid $5,000 to win and the
victory was the fourth so far on the 2011 tour for Babb.  The
Moweaqua, IL, driver was behind the wheel of a Camaro bodied machine
sponsored by Petroff Towing and Donley.
     Babb started seventh in a strong field of 22 UMP late models for the
feature.  Front row starters Scott James and Jeep Van Wormer hooked
up in a side by side battle that continued until Babb took the lead
on lap 36.  James who was the overall fastest qualifier had a slight
edge for the first half of the feature.  The two drivers then traded
spots with Van Wormer holding the lead for the next 11 laps   James
wasn't finished and retook the lead for another quick 4 tours around
the quarter mile oval.  Behind the two Babb got by Rodney Melvin and
into third spot where he could quickly move into contention and the
lead.  Babb crossed the line ahead of James, Van Wormer, and Rodney
Melvin.  Fifth place went to Bobby Pierce who was making his first
ever appearance at the speedway.
     The four heat races were preliminary victories for Scott James,
Rodney Melvin, Jeep Van Wormer, and Bobby Pierce.  Heat race action
included a 6 car entanglement in heat two and  a wild flip involving
Brandon Sheppard while the field was exiting turn two during heat
four.  Jason Riggs of Harrisburg, IL, took the B Main over Chad
Zobrist.  Sixteen drivers started in that last chance race.
     With the Tri-State Speedway Summer Nationals event now complete Babb
continues as the 2011 Summer National Points leader.  Babb and Scott
James entered the race one and two in points and ran one and two in
the feature!  Only five points races remain for this year's four week
     Illinois driver Mike Harrison won the 25 lap feature held for the UMP
Open Wheel Modifieds.  The event was part of the Dirt Car Summit
Racing Equipment Modified Nationals which paid $1,000 to win and drew
a field of 39 cars.
     Mike Harrison secured the lead on lap two after a three wide dash for
the lead with Stan Beadles and Paul Miles at the start of the
feature.  He maintained the lead throughout the event with Zach Fair
becoming his closest challenger in finishing second.  Tyler Nicely
and Ronnie Falloway were third and fourth.  Brian Shaw would finish
     The four heat races were won by Stan Beadles, Paul Miles, Tyler
Nicely, and Harrison.
Two of those heats produced some of the best racing of the night.  Jesse
Snyder and Dave Beck rallied to win the two B Mains which were laden with
capable drivers still looking for a transfer spot to the main event.  The
first B ended under the yellow as the time limit expired with caution
periods prevailing over actual racing.  The second B was more competitive
with Clayton Miller and Gabe Menser making strong but unsuccessful bids to
capture the two transfer spots.

     The UMP Modifieds will be on the race card Saturday night July 16th
when the USAC Sprint Cars will be at Tri-State Speedway for the final
night of the 2011 Indiana Sprint Week.  Race Time is at 7:30 P.M.



Share |