Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted August 6, 2018

 Haubstadt, IN - August 6, 2018 -  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will return to action in August.  Saturday August 11th the non-wing 410 sprint series will race at the Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN.  The quarter mile high banked oval has continued to challenge drivers for six decades while providing all the added thrills and excitement that fans expect.

     The HOOSIER SPRINT NATIONALS will pay $5,000 to win.  Twenty sprint cars will transfer through the heats and B Main to form the feature line-up.  The possibility exists for an additional driver to be added if that driver is eligible for a provisional.

     Eleven Hoosier Sprint Nationals have been held to date.  Eight different drivers have claimed the Hoosier Title.  Kevin Thomas Jr. won the race last year and also back in 2013.  Kyle Cummins was the runner-up in 2017, a fete he has accomplished three times since 2008. Brady Short has the most HSN wins with three.

     Carson Short, Brandon Mattox, and Donny Brackett are currently one-two-three in MSCS Season Points.  Just 44 points separate these three at the top of the standings for the 43 licensed drivers.  Kevin Thomas Jr. and Carson Short have both collected a pair of MSCS feature wins this season.  These two pilots have been the most successful in finding the checkers first.  The other six features had different drivers win.

       The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be competing at Haubstadt as usual on August 11th.  No modified driver has visited victory lane more than once this season.  The leading drivers have cars that are evenly matched.  Zach Fair has been the most consistent with 4 top three finishes in 4 appearances.  The first one of those was a win!

     The IMCA Racesaver Sprints will also be running during the Hoosier Sprint Nationals program.  It will be the first appearance for these winged 305 cars at Haubstadt.  The result is another triple header for race fans.

     The pit gate will open at 3:30 P.M.  Warm-ups begin at 6:00 with group qualifying to precede the racing portion of the program which starts at 7:30 C.D.T.  



Share |