Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted August 1, 2017

     Haubstadt, IN - Aug. 1, 2017.  The Hoosier Sprint Nationals will be the next event scheduled to be held at Tri-State Speedway.  This event was originally formed and dedicated to the continuing tradition of racing non wing 410 sprint cars. It will once again be sanctioned by the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  This particular race has remained as an intense one day experience.  All the action will happen during one Saturday evening at the popular Haubstadt oval.

     Mark the racing calendar for the date of August 5th. The feature will pay $5,000 to the winner. Twenty sprint cars and one possible eligible provisional starter will take the green flag.

     Ten Hoosier Sprint Nationals have been held to date.  Two were rained out including last year’s event.  Eight different drivers have claimed the title.  Brady Short owns 3 Hoosier Nationals’ titles to lead in victories.  He has won the last two races, winning in both 2014 and 2015.  This special race will be the only race to be held in August at Tri-State Speedway.

     Carson Short and Brady Short are locked into a dual for the lead in a close MSCS Points battle.  The only driver with multiple MSCS wins this season is Chase Stockon.  He took two features in a row at Haubstadt this spring.  The other 7 features had 7 different winners emerge.  Kyle Cummins took the 7/02 offering at Haubstadt to become the most recent MSCS feature winner plus winning the USAC Indiana Sprint Week race on July 15.
     Other drivers who hold top ten positions in MSCS Points at mid season include Brandon Mattox, Kyle Cummins, Brandon Morin, Kent Schmidt, Max McGhee, Donny Brackett, Dakota Jackson, and Robert Ballou.

      The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be competing at Haubstadt as usual on August 5th.  Only one modified driver has visited victory lane more than once this season.  Trent Young has recorded two feature wins.  Zach Fair has been the most consistent with 6 Top Five finishes in six appearances.  One of those was a win!  Matt Lane has 5 Top Five finishes but is still looking for that first big victory.

     The MMSA Mini Sprints will also be running during the scope of the Hoosier Sprint Nationals program making it a triple header for race fans.  This series races with the addition of wings to the cars.  Rod Henning was victorious in the two mini sprint races held at the track earlier this season.  The top five drivers in points are Scott Bradley, Rod Henning, Justin Lewis, Jesse Vermillion, and Kyle Hathaway.

     The pit gate will open at 3:30 P.M. C.D.T. and the grandstands at 4:30.  Warm-ups begin at 6 P.M. with group qualifying to precede the actual racing program which starts at 7:30.



Share |