Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted July 12, 2017

     Haubstadt, IN - July 11, 2017 -  Tri-State Speedway will be in action on Saturday night July 15th.  The track will be hosting what is scheduled to be the seventh and final round of USAC Indiana Sprint Week presented by Camping World.  Seven events were scheduled to be held at seven different dirt tracks across the state over a nine day period.  The feature each night pays $5,000 to win!

     The first three races took four days to complete.  Friday night’s opener at Gas City Speedway was postponed to Monday because of rain. Thomas Meseraull won the feature on Saturday night at Kokomo Speedway which had become the new location for opening night.  C. J  Leary won on Sunday at Lawrenceburg and again on Monday at Gas City.  Each event attracted full fields of cars with the highest car count maxing out at 45.

     Race fans following this annual trek across the Hoosier landscape share in a cause reaching a level of Great Expectations. The final four races will no doubt continue to meet these expectations and also
provide some unexpected excitement.   The four remaining races include stops at the Terre Haute Action Track, Putnamville’s Lincoln Park Speedway, Bloomington Speedway, and Tri-State Speedway.  Each track will present the AMSOIL USAC sprint car drivers a quandary of totally different challenges.

    There were 20 drivers that made the show all three times to start sprint week.  Two  collected victories.  The overall field of competitors remains strong!  So there are a number of capable drivers still looking to make a feature field or to take a win.  Carson Short picked up his first victory in USAC competition at last year’s IN Sprint Week show at Haubstadt.  He was second in this year’s ISW opener at Kokomo.  Brady Short won the sprint week race at Tri-State Speedway in 2015.  The 2016 USAC National Champion Brady Bacon is the defending Indiana Sprint Week Champion.

     So far the events during Indiana Sprint Week have been fast and exciting.  Kevin Thomas Jr., Dave Darland, and Chase Stockon have displayed fast cars in setting fast time at the 3 events.   C. J. Leary‘s winning efforts propelled him into the lead in sprint week points.  However that lead is subject to change each night.  Thomas Meseraull is second in points heading into mid-week’s racing.  Justin Grant continues to lead the USAC National Points.  Other drivers who have led sprint week features so far this year include Carson Short, Brady Bacon, Shane Cottle, and Robert Ballou.

     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be featured on the program. The modified drivers will have an added incentive in that they will be racing for $1,000 to win.  Their 25 lap feature will be held to conclude the program.

      The combination of modifieds and sprints promises one great night of short track open wheel racing which Tri-State Speedway excels in presenting.  Levi Kissinger won the modified feature on ISW night last year.  Kissinger already has a win at Haubstadt this season. Competitor Trent Young currently leads all 2017 modified participants with a pair of feature victories at Haubstadt.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.



Share |