Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted May 15, 2017


     Haubstadt, IN - May 14, 2017 -  Parker Price Miller picked up that all important first win in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Sunday night at the Tri-State Speedway.  The Kokomo, IN, driver accomplished the deed in his home state.  The feat was a virtual encore performance as he had just won the MOWA Winged Sprint Car feature at Haubstadt the night before.  It is almost unimaginable that a driver could put together two back to back top performances. Parker Price-Miller’s total weekend performances is one for the speedway’s record book!  The Sunday victory in the driver’s own words was “Incredible!”

     Other drivers who led the WoO feature included David Gravel and Sheldon Haudenschild.  Gravel had won last year’s Tri-State show and Haudenschild had a fast car and a feel for the cushion.  Haudenschild took over the lead from Gravel after the first five laps.  A complete 360 in turn four had dropped Haudenschild to sixth for a mid race restart.  Parker Price-Miller continued in the lead with Gravel in pursuit and Jason Johnson emerging from the pack in a race that he described as “tense” to take third.  The three would finish in that order as the ranks closed up.  Shane Stewart and Brady Bacon rounded out the top five.

      Brady Bacon set fast time for the World of Outlaws with a 12.396 lap around the quarter mile oval.  He won the first of 4 heats after starting on the pole.  The inversion draw of zero gave him the pole for the eight car dash.  However during that dash he hit the fourth turn wall and rolled his sprint car.  The results of that event set the line-up for the feature. So after repairs Bacon started eighth in the 24 car feature field.

     The other three Outlaw heat races were run in quick order with Gravel, Johnson, and Haudenschild the winners.  David Gravel took the Dash.  Greg Wilson finished ahead of Logan Schuchart in the 12 lap last chance showdown.

     In other racing action, there was a Mini Sprint Invitational. Eighteen top drivers from across the country participated in a showdown for this division.  Rod Henning took the 20 lap feature. The Ohio driver started sixth of the field and pulled off another winning appearance at the speedway.  World of Outlaw regular Rico Abreu was his closest challenger at the checkers.  Tyler Walton, Andy Bradley, and Thomas Brown rounded out the top five.

    The mini sprint feature had to be red flagged once.  Racing stopped when Pressley Truesdon crashed on the backstretch on lap 12.  Rod Henning and Tyler Walton won the two qualifying heats.

     The mini sprints sanctioned by MMSA will be back at Haubstadt on Sunday May 28th along with the MSCS Sprint Car Series.  That is the next race scheduled at Tri-State Speedway.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway


Share |