Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 29, 2015

      Haubstadt, IN - June 27.  Chase Stockon led the last 19 laps to win
the non-wing portion of the Southern Indiana Sprint Car Stampede
held at Tri-State Speedway Saturday night.  The Elizabethtown, IN,
driver started inside of row two and used a restart after a caution
period on lap 6 to outgun leader Kevin Thomas Jr. and capture the
lead.  From that point  it was show time for Stockon.  His car was
bad fast and he dealt with lapped traffic with expertise.  He
threaded the needle on one occasion in turn three when two cars
about to be lapped left very little space to maneuver.
     Stockon was behind the wheel of his own number 32 TBI Racing sprint
for this race.  It was the eighth career victory for Stockon in
Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series  competition.  His DRC sprint
car is sponsored by Cresent Electric, Angle Buildings, FK Shocks, and
Ted Brown’s Quality Paint.  The victory was worth $2,000 and an
opportunity to prepare for next month’s Indiana Sprint Week finale at
the track.  “I think that we have gotten things figured out down
here!  Hopefully we also put on a great show for the fans.”
     The race for second continued behind Stockon.  Carson Short also
passed Kevin Thomas Jr.  Thomas however regained the runner-up spot
to finish second with Carson Short taking third..  Thomas expressed
disappointment,  “I was disappointed with myself.  I lost the race on
a restart.”  Short noted.  “My car was a little free the whole race.”
 Dealing with lapped traffic added to the challenge.  The leaders
were lapping  the ninth place car as the race concluded.
     Robert Ballou and Kyle Cummins rounded out the top five for the
feature.  The two drivers gained the most spots for drivers starting
in the top half of the field.  Aaron Farney would lead a second five
that included MSCS points leader Brady Short, Dakota Jackson, Josh
Hodges, and James Lyerla.  Short was running fourth early in the
feature but had to pit to replace a tire after contacting one of the
lapped cars.  Jackson and Hodges were making their first appearances
with MSCS this season.  Lyerla had the misfortune to roll his car in
turn one during hot laps.  But he had it repaired in time for the
      Brian Karraker received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing
eleventh.  He had to restart on the tail after an incident that
brought out a yellow flag.  Local driver Kent Schmidt also made his
first appearance for the season and earned the Keizer Aluminum
Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.  He gained 8 spots after
starting in the eleventh and last row.  Twenty-two cars started the
     Donny Brackett was one of the drivers whose night took an unexpected
turn.  He had held off Brady Short and Kevin Thomas Jr. to win his
heat race.  He then discovered that his car was experiencing brake
failure but not until he was being pushed out to line up for the
feature.  Instead of starting on the first row he elected to start at
the tail and a lap later he dropped out.  The other two MSCS heat
races were preliminary victories for Carson Short and Jeff Bland Jr.
     Only two drivers had the resources and zeal to  pull double duty.
Carson Short and Kevin Thomas Jr. raced with MSCS and MOWA during the
program.  They both used two different cars.
     The Neal Tire MOWA Winged Sprints raced to provide the second half of
the Sprint Stampede.  Parker Price-Miller of Kokomo, IN, won that 25
lap feature.  Price-Miller returned to Indiana to compete in this
event after running with the All Stars during Ohio Sprint Week during
which he finished in the top ten in points.  Hunter Schuerenber and
Chris Malone finished second and third.  While Price-Miller and
Schuerenberg started on the first row Malone started 13th.  Cory
Bruns and Caleb Armstrong rounded out the top five.
     Trey Datweiler won the B Main.  Hunter Schuerenberg won the dash and
had the crowd on it’s feet in winning the third heat.  Kevin Thomas
Jr. and Cale Thomas won the other two heats.  With two different
organizations racing, the pits at Tri-State was filled with a total
of 50 sprint cars.

     Tri-State Speedway will be racing twice in July.  The Late Model
Summer Nationals are scheduled for Sunday July 5th.  Indiana Sprint
Week will conclude at the track on Saturday July 18th.
     The Midwest Sprint Car Series will next head to Lincoln Park Speedway
in Putnamville, IN, to compete at  the first day of the two day Bill
Gardner Sprintacular on Friday July 3rd.  The series will be back at
Tri-State Speedway on August 1st for the Hoosier Sprint Nationals.
The Sprintacular pays $4,000 to win and the Hoosier Sprint Nationals
will pay $5,000 to win.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.



Share |