Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 16, 2015


     Haubstadt,IN - June 6, 2015.  Brady Short won the 25 Lap 410 sprint
car feature Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.  The sprint car
portion of “The Summer Showdown” was sanctioned by the Hoosier Tire
Midwest Sprint Car Series and paid $2,000 to win.  It was Short’s
fourth MSCS win this season and second victory in a row at Tri-State
     The “Bedford Blaster” started sixth in the Cam Potorff owned 11P
sprint.  Ahead were five determined drivers including series title
rival Carson Short.  Brady Short and Carson Short were one and two in
the series points going into the event.  Carson Short would start on
the front row and lead most of the feature.  The Marion, IL, driver
was looking for that elusive first feature win and setting a
blistering pace.  The leaders eventually became immersed in heavy
traffic. Tire wear was affecting handling.  Brady Short took the lead
on lap 23.  Carson Short would continue on to finish second despite a
couple of speedy trips in and out of the infield in an effort to
correct the handling on his sprint car.
     Brady Short’s winning Spec powered Maxim was sponsored by Sipes Body
and Glass, Indiana Stoneworks, Bloomington Auto Colors, and Simpson.
Don Short serves as the crew chief.  Short’s ability to pass the top
five in the starting lineup earned him the Keizer Aluminum Wheels
Hard Charger of the Race Award.  That was the most moves that any
driver made as the field was pretty evenly matched.
     Donny Brackett also moved up in the field to finish third and claim
his best finish of the season.  Brian Karraker capitalized on his
first appearance with the series this year to finish fourth.  Brandon
Mattox grabbed fifth.  The second five included Mitch Wissmiller,
Chris Malone, James Lyerla, Jordan Kinser, and Aric Gentry.  The
Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award went to J. T. Stapp who was eleventh.
     The two sprint car heat races were victories for Carson Short and
Chris “Critter” Malone.  Short’s win was outright and by a
straightaway.  However Malone’s victory came as the result of a
valiant last lap effort.
     The Modifieds competed in the first event of the 2015 Summit Racing
Equipment Modified Nationals.  Josh Harris of Utica, KY, took the
feature over a starting field of 21 cars.   He started on the outside
of the first row.  Stephen Schnapf would finish as the runner-up.
Dave Beck was third.  Tyler Nicely and Brandon McDowell rounded out
the top five.  Zach Fair led the second five which included veteran
NASCAR racer Kenny Schrader who thrives on dirt track racing.
     The victory was Josh Harris’ first at Tri-State Speedway this season.
 The winner’s purse for this race was $1,500. That opportunity
surfaced after an exciting second heat in which he won in a duel with
Dustin Beck that had them side by side in the turns.  The other two
heats were equally competitive.  Brandon McDowell took the first heat
by a car length over Stephen Schnapf.  Dave Beck made the pass to win
the third heat on the white flag lap.
     The MSCS Sprint Cars will return to race at Tri-State Speedway on
June 27th.  That evening is the date for the “Southern Indiana Sprint
Stampede.”  The MOWA Winged Sprints will also be in competition to
make it an all Sprint Show.  Both features will pay $2,000 to win!

Provided as News and Information.



Share |