Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted July 1, 2014

    Haubstadt, IN - June 28, 2014 -  Robert Ballou won the Hoosier Tire
Midwest Sprint Car Series feature Saturday night at Tri-State
Speedway.  It was his second win at the track in as many weekends.
Ballou took the lead on the first lap of the “Summer Blast” and sped
away in the Ballou Motorsports, Maxim, Don Ott powered entry.

     The new found success at the Haubstadt oval was reassuring.  “I think
that it’s the new motor.  In putting it together, it is what we did
10 years ago and it works better than anything that we have ever
had.”  The 410 workhorse had the power to lead all 25 laps.  The
driver never flinched in route around the quarter mile oval and the
solid effort had the look of victory throughout.

     There was heated competition behind the leader that was at times two
& three cars wide.  Brady Short would prevail to post a second place
finish.  Short and MSCS Points leader Kyle Cummins initiated the
battle in trying to overtake Chase Stockon who had started on the
pole for the feature.  Cummins would finish third and Stockon fourth.
 Hunter Schuerenberg was fifth.

     Bradley Sterrett, Carson Short, Brian Karraker, Jeff Bland Jr., and
Hud Cone finished sixth through tenth.  Darren Hagen was eleventh.
Hagen was the last driver to line-up to start the feature.  He had
just won the POWRi Midget feature, and after the post race interview,
he had to switch cars in the pits and go immediately back out to
compete again.  The effort was rewarded as he received the Wilwood
Tuff Brakes Award for the race.  Hud Cone also pulled double duty in
the sprints and midgets.

     The red flag came out on lap five for Shane Cockrum who flipped on
the front stretch.
A yellow flag was displayed 2 laps later when Aaron Farney made contact
with the wall near the starter’s stand.

     Rookie James Lyerla missed the transfer from the B to the A Main.
However he elected to take the provisional 21st starting spot offered
by MSCS and worked to turn that opportunity into the night’s Keizer
Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger Award by advancing eight spots.  Other
chargers during the feature included Hud Cone, Bradley Sterrett, and
Jeff Bland Jr.

     The three MSCS heat races were preliminary victories  for Chase
Stockon, Hunter Schuerenberg, and Robert Ballou.  Brandon Mattox
earned the most passing points in the heats with a 7th to 2nd place
run.  A smoking engine later spoiled his chance for a top five
feature run.   Hud Cone won the 12 lap B Main.

        Darren Hagen of Riverside,
California, won the 30 lap feature held Saturday night for the POWRi
Midgets.  He led the event from flag to flag in the Shane Hmiel owned
Great Clips Team Five-Six Inc. entry.  It was victory number three
for Hagen this season.

     The battle for second intensified with lapped cars accumulating
behind Hagen adding to the congestion as his pursuers fought to gain
that position.  Zach Daum emerged from the frenzy to take a runner-up
finish.  Dereck King managed a third place finish despite having an
engine that was heating up.  Kevin Thomas Jr. and Tyler Thomas
rounded out the top five.  Garret Aitken, the B Main winner, was

     Local driver Hud Cone was tenth.  He also won one of the three heat
races.  Cone also competed with the MSCS Sprint cars and finished
tenth in that event.  The other two midget heats were won by Andy
Malpocker and Seth Mottsinger.  It was the final night of the Ford
Eco Boost Challenge for the midgets which took place at three Indiana

     Nathan Benson of Concordia, MO, won the feature in the Speedway
Motors 600 c.c. Outlaw Micros.  It was his second win in series
competition this year.  Illinois driver Jason Harms was second and
Zach Taylor of nearby Washington, IN, placed third.


Share |