Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 27, 2014

     Haubstadt, IN - June 25, 2014 - The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car
Series will be making it’s fourth appearance of the season at
Tri-State Speedway Saturday night June 28th.  This weekend’s racing
at the track will also feature the POWRi Midgets plus the 600 c.c.
Outlaw Micro Sprints.  The program will provide fans with three
classes of high performance open wheel cars to provide lots of speed
and action.
     The Midwest Sprint Car Series will be returning to action for the
second week in a row.  Last week’s feature winner Robert Ballou will
have an opportunity to win his second feature in a row.  The series
is currently working it’s way through the middle of the schedule
which includes four $2,000 to win events.  Another race at Clay
County Speedway in Flora, IL, is set for July 5th before the mid July
break.  Then cars begin rolling again with the Hoosier Sprint
Nationals on August 2nd at Tri-State Speedway which pays five grand.
     The three MSCS features held at Haubstadt this season have produced
three different winners.  In addition to the win by Robert Ballou,
Daron Clayton and Jeff Bland Jr. have posted Tri-State victories.  In
all eleven different drivers have earned top five finishes.  Brady
Short is another top driver and he has been chasing those three.  He
along with Ballou, Clayton, and Bland make up a select group of
sprint car drivers that have the most top five finishes at the
quarter mile oval.
     Eighteen different drivers have finished in the top five during the
seven features held at the four speedways MSCS has raced at so far
this season.  Competition is keen beginning with the need to pass
cars in a heat race to earn valuable passing points.  Winning a MSCS
feature requires an all out effort.  That has been demonstrated at
every stop.  A podium finish in the top three is an honor!  Top five
and top ten drivers are accomplished drivers who will surely win on
another night!
     Kyle Cummins leads the series in season points.  He took the lead at
the Farmer City Raceway on June 6th and added 6 points to the growing
margin with a runner-up finish at the Southern Indiana Sprint
Stampede last week.  Young guns Bradley Sterrett and Carson Short
remain second and third in MSCS points.  Robert Ballou and Brandon
Mattox moved up to fourth and fifth in the standings.  Brady Short is
now sixth.  Jeff Bland Jr,  Jon Stanbrough, Chase Stockon, and rookie
James Lyerla round out the top ten,
     Daron Clayton and Rookie Daylan Chambers are next in the current
standings which is high enough for them to qualify for the
provisional list.  A provisional starting spot is available at the
“Summer Blast” to the highest eligible MSCS driver who did not earn
one of the preferred 20 starting spots.  He or she would start 21st.
Drivers that start the feature will receive a minimum of $200.  Any
other driver not making the starting field has the opportunity of
collecting $100 in tow money.
     Racing will begin at 7:30 Central Daylight time.  Opening ceremonies
usually start about 10 minutes earlier.  Hot laps are at 6:30. 



Share |