Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 9, 2014

     Haubstadt, IN - June 7, 2014 - Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, KY, won the
Summit Racing Equipment Dirt Car Modified Nationals event held
Saturday night at the Tri-State Speedway.  The 40 lap, $3,000 to win,
event served as the kick-off for the six week long series which will
visit some 30 tracks across the Midwest.

     Tyler Nicely led throughout the modified feature event using a higher
line around the quarter mile banked speedway.  But he had constant
and close company in an equally determined Levi Kissinger.  Kissinger
was just behind trying moves at the bottom, pulling up alongside, and
even getting a nose of his car just ahead in one corner or another.
The two battled all 40 laps!  Nicely had started on the pole next to
fast qualifier Dave Beck and Kissinger had started just behind

     Tyler Nicely turned some hot victory doughnuts in turn four on the
way to victory lane.  Once there and out of the car he had some
praise for Kissinger.  “Levi raced me clean.  We ran side by side and
never touched!  And we put on a heck of a show for the fans.”  Nicely
became the third different modified feature winner at the speedway
this season.  His car is sponsored by Diggers and The Lucas Oil

     Kissinger was second with Dave Beck continuing to hold on to third
position.  The top three did not change as the race played out.
Trent Young finished fourth after an enduring battle with Zach Fair.
The second five included Dean Hoffman, Josh Harris, Mike Harrison,
Michael Fox, and Stephen Schnapf.

     Levi Kissinger, Trent Young, Dave Beck, and Tyler Nicely won the four
modified heat races.  Matt Mevert took the C Main made necessary when
44 cars were registered to race.  Paul Miles won the B Main.  He and
Brandon McDoweell took the final two transfer spots.  Twenty-two
drivers started the feature.

     The Quick Car Dirt Late Model Series portion of the show could not be
completed.  The feature field was already on the track when the rain
promised all evening by ominous skies finally began falling.  As the
rain continued the cars were forced to return to the pits.  Drivers
did not see a green flag and the fans were already heading for the

     Two preliminary heat races for the late models were held.  Clayton
Miller of Elkton, Ky, won the first heat.  Evan Taylor of Woodlawn,
TN, won the second heat with series points leader Steve Lance Jr.
finishing second.

     The next event to be held at Tri-State Speedway will be on Saturday
June 21st.  The program will be a double header featuring the MOWA
Winged Sprints and the MSCS non-wing Sprints.  The UMP Dirt Car
Modifieds will be back in action with a big thousand to win show as
part of the Late Model Summernationals program on July 6th.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway.


Share |